top of page
Search
  • Javelinas

Chaos Without Mayhem!

Transitioning from traveling throughout Bhutan to traveling in India has been an interesting challenge for a number of reasons, namely the amount of people on the road. I find it fascinating how the phrase “traffic lanes are just suggestions” is the most accurate way to account for all of the inexplicable (by my standards) driving behaviors. For example, the flow of traffic is continuous despite the fact that vehicles are weaving in and out of lanes, only inches away from each other. Though at times I feel anxious at the sight of an incoming taxi continuing to drive full speed in my direction, the likelihood of a collision is actually very minimal. How? I have no idea. It seems like everyone is on the same wavelength when it comes to maintaining some distance, albeit closer than preferable. Nonetheless I enjoy the open air tuk-tuks and feeling the wind soothe my skin against the ever-increasing temperatures.


Perhaps a benefit of such proximities is being able to converse with the drivers or passengers nearby. Whenever we were held up by traffic, Dr. Goswami would turn to an adjacent tuk-tuk and flash a smile before striking up a brief conversation in Hindi. Even as we strolled through a neighborhood garden, he happily chatted with strangers that recommended fun places to visit and expressed their concern for our “ability to cope with the heat.” I do consider myself an extrovert but observing the mannerisms of my professor showed that I have significant room for growth! Every moment I spend simply looking at my surroundings is an opportunity to discover something new about myself in relation to the world around me. For that reason, I don’t mind being occasionally and or abruptly being thrown out of my comfort zone. Wherever I land is an adventure waiting to be experienced.



Katrina S

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Temples

bottom of page